Uncategorized

Five on Friday

Happy Friday! It has been A WEEK and mama is TIRED! Merritt has suddenly decided she is going to party all night every night so I’m running on fumes and more iced Starbucks than I’d like to admit. SO ready for a relaxing weekend, but first let’s re-cap this week!

MISS MERRITT | As I mentioned last time, Merritt was baptized on Sunday, January 29th. She was so good during the service and her first time at church in general! It filled my heart to have all her grandparents, great-grandparents, and many other family members attend  church and support her on that special day. After the service, we celebrated with a soup buffet fellowship meal and a special cake for M. I may or may not have had a piece of that cake for breakfast Monday (and Tuesday) morning!Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

PHOTO OF THE WEEK | Winter decided to make another appearance in southwest Virginia after some unusually warm weather the week prior. Just a little dusting of snow, but I’m a sucker for silos. I reckon Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow yesterday and we’re in for another few weeks of winter – YAY! #sarcasm

PURCHASE OF THE WEEK | My baby is in a stage where she doesn’t want to be held unless she’s also standing up. She fusses until we hold her straight up and she stiffens her legs and stands like a big girl (and I sob on the inside!). We decided it might be time to switch out the Kick and Play (which she still loves)  with a new toy but I didn’t want to invest too much money in case she isn’t a fan, so I purchased this little guy from Amazon. It should be here Monday (thanks, Prime!) I will keep you posted on how she likes it!

GOOD INTENTIONS | So last week I mentioned that I downloaded the Sweat with Kayla app and was going to try it out because I was determined to lose the last of my baby weight? Yeah….ABOUT THAT…I didn’t even open the app this week so I completely wasted by 7-day free trial, but such is life with a new babe. I’m sure I’ll get back into a fitness routine when she goes to college. And while we’re visiting the topic of good intentions – I sometimes like to pretend I have it all together and create a meal plan for the week copy a meal plan from Pinterest, get all the groceries, then proceed to eat frozen pizza. I did manage to make two of the five dinners (Slow Cooker Creamy Ranch Pork Chops / Creamy Kale Sausage and Roasted Red Pepper Pasta) so that counts for something, right? This meme is me. I am this meme.572913e8ba68d3bf956690ba7f61a4bf

WEEKEND PLANS | I like to imagine that I’m going to catch up on some much-needed rest, but let’s be honest – that’s not going to happen! We have friends from out of town coming home for the weekend so we’re visiting with them Saturday evening, and I’m sure we will watch the Super Bowl at my in-laws Sunday night. My FIL is making fried chicken (THE BEST!) and I’ll probably bring an appetizer. What is your go-to Super Bowl recipe and who are you pulling for, or are you just watching for the commercials? We’re Redskins fans but we’re pulling for the Falcons!

Leaving yall with a throwback pic of Merritt in her “tutus and touchdowns” onesie that she outgrew way too fast! She’s going to love football just like her mama and daddy! Thank you for reading and have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

